Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (IQA) (RQF)

(Formerly V1 Award)

This IQA qualification is suitable for you if you wish to obtain the Internal Verifier / Moderator role and quality assure assessors and assessment within the work environment.

Order Now




Buy now

Course Description

The Level 4 Award (previously V1 award) in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (IQA) is a 12 credit and 90 guided learning hour qualification consisting of 2 mandatory units. (Identified in the Course Structure.)

This qualification replaces the V1. It is part of the new suite of qualifications for assessors and internal quality assurers (IQA).

This qualification is required for:

  • Verifiers involved in National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) for the next three years.
  • Those who deliver these qualifications will need to be qualified to meet the requirements of the NVQ Code of Practice and Sector Skills Councils assessment strategies.
  • Quality assurance staff who deliver QCF qualifications that use the term ‘NVQ’ in their title will also need these qualifications.
  • Some staff, who are quality assuring qualifications within the QCF framework that do not use the term ‘NVQ’ in their titles, but whose purpose is to confirm occupational competence, will need to hold this IQA qualification.

This qualification will be helpful for teachers in schools who deliver vocational qualifications with applied learning, such as BTEC Firsts and Nationals.

Course Structure

Unit 1 : Understanding Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the Quality of Assessment which provides the opportunity to relate underpinning knowledge and understanding to practice of internal quality assurance. Sharing knowledge and experience with peers and colleagues provides an opportunity both to share good practice and to reflect on assessment approaches.


Unit 2 : This unit will give you the opportunity to apply the principles and requirements of internal quality assurance to a real working context and identify ways in which to develop and improve your practice.

Assessment should focus on real work activities so that naturally occurring evidence can be assessed.


The range of direct evidence MUST include:

    • monitoring of a minimum of TWO assessors
    • assessment of a minimum of TWO candidates per assessor
    • observation of practice
    • examination of products of work
    • questioning

These can be supplemented, where necessary, with professional discussion, reflective accounts or witness statements.

International Students

This course can be delivered internationally, we have extensive quality assurance systems, and all our courses delivered overseas are subject to the same standards as those taught within the UK. You must have a qualified Internal verifier (IV) in the workplace to complete your required observations, they must have an UK recognised Internal quality assurance (IQA – IV) qualification or equivalent. You will also have daily access to our tutor support team here in the UK, they are available, Monday to Friday via email and telephone.

Course Completion

On successful completion of this course, the learner will achieve a UK recognised, fully accredited qualification/certificate  will be Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment and Processes and Practice (RQF)

Our Policy

At The Big Teacher we operate a policy of honesty, our prices are all inclusive of the following:

  • Access to our user friendly e-learning platform
  • Outstanding tutor support
  • Course materials
  • Certification

Order Now




Buy now